Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Familiarizing the Restrictions on Driving with a Learners Permit in Pennsylvania

A teenager in the state of Pennsylvania who is issued a learner’s permit is expected to follow certain guidelines and in the span of 6 months learn how to safely drive a car as well as learn proper etiquette or courtesy while driving.  This is the time for the teen to learn not only to drive, but to avoid situations where they might have an accident or receive a driving violation.  It is also a good time to teach your teen about the cost of maintaining a car – from how much gas cost to the cost of Pennsylvania car insurance.

During the 6 months before getting their junior license, teenagers are expected to gain practical knowledge on how to be a safe driver. This also includes not only driving during the day but also driving at night and during inclement weather.

A Pennsylvania learners permit is valid for one year with extensions granted if the teenager needs more time to learn how to drive.  More extensions can also be obtained after the first extension.

Under the state of Pennsylvania’s driving regulation, drivers accumulate points driving offenses.  If a teenager with a learners permit accumulates 6 or over 6 points or is found guilty of only one violation of high speeding (defined as driving 26 mph over the speed limit that is posted) the permit will be suspended for 3 months or 90 days.  These are required sanctions, the teen will be considered a high-risk driver, and this can possibly affect the rates the parents are paying for their Pennsylvania car insurance.

Points can be removed from driving records by good driving – for example after driving one year with no further violations, 3 points will be removed from the driving record.  So, in order to remove 6 points the driver needs to have 2 years of driving with no further violations.

State officials have published a Tutor’s booklet “Tutor’s Guide: How to Steer Them to Safe Driving”.  There is a log in this guide where the 65 hours of drivers training can be documented by recording date, time spent, and what was practiced for each date. It also has an area to note the hours you have logged this far, so you will be able to tell how much longer is needed on the 65-hour requirement.

The guide also has great tips on how to be a better Tutor.  Teaching your teen how to drive can be extremely stressful for the parent and the driver and can often have driving sessions end with one angry parent and one frustrated and often crying teen.  The Guide is divided up into 8 Lessons that cover everything from “Controls, Gauges, and Maintenance” to “Handling Bad Weather and Emergencies”.

As a parent, you might want to schedule a visit to your insurance agent so that the teen can also learn about Pennsylvania car insurance as that is also part of caring for a car.  They can learn that the laws in Pennsylvania require a minimum amount of insurance in order for a car to be able to be driven on Pennsylvania roads and the penalties and fees are for not maintaining the necessary insurance.