Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Five Important Guidelines on Laws for Driving and Transportation in Pennsylvania

It is mandatory for a car owner in Pennsylvania to have an Auto insurance/ car insurance to cover the risks that arise out of traffic collisions. Read more to know about laws of driving in Pennsylvania. Car insurance or auto insurance is mandatory while driving in Pennsylvania. Auto insurance is a contract between a policyholder and an insurance company wherein the latter agrees to indemnify the former against the financial losses incurred because of bodily injury, physical damage, and liabilities arising out of the event of traffic collision at a premium paid by the former party. Shopping around and comparing the quotes offered by different companies and save you up to 20% on the premium.

While in Pennsylvania, one can get cheap auto insurance by scrutinizing the factors determining the rate of auto insurance policy and the requirements prescribed by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (Penn DOT). One must also make sure that the insurance company is financial reliability by visiting Standards and Poor website, and check out the rating.

Penn DOT has made certain important changes in the law related to junior drivers and passenger restraint. The new rules took effect on 27th of December 2011 and the purpose was to enhance the safety on PA roads.

Act 81 states that the junior drivers in PA (drivers under 18 years of age) have to undergo a 65 hours comprehensive training instead of 50 hours as it was prior to the amendment of the law. Out of these 65 hours, 10 hours are supposed to be devoted towards nighttime driving and the five hours are to be utilized for practicing driving in bad weather conditions. Junior drivers will be issued license only after successful completion of the 65 hours training.

The law also states that the number of passengers being transported by a junior driver must not exceed the number of seat belts in the vehicle. There must not be more than one passenger who is not an immediate family member (brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister of the junior driver, foster children living with the family) under the age of 18 years in the vehicle if they are not accompanied by any legal guardian or parent. It is mandatory for the driver and the passengers to wear a seatbelt. It is also compulsory that children below 8 years of age are fastened to a child restraint system.

The provisions of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR) that prescribes the PA guidelines for commercial drivers and commercial driving licenses underwent certain changes. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSR) has made it compulsory for the commercial vehicle drivers to undergo a medical examination to make sure they meet the physical requirements to qualify for a commercial driver’s license. The drivers are also required to submit a current copy of certificate from their medical examiner to the state driver-licensing agency. The commercial drivers are also needed to self-certify the type of driving in which they operate, by filling up and submitting a form DL-11CD available with the Penn DOT.

Thus, when driving in Pennsylvania, one must keep in mind these simple requirements and comply with the same to help the administration enhance the security of the drivers, passengers as well as other people on the road.