Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Helpful Guide for Disabled Drivers to Obtain Car Insurance in PA

AutoInsuranceInPennsylvaniaAn individual is considered a disabled driver if meets one of the below:

•             Unable to walk for 200 feet with no stops or needs the aid of a cane, brace, wheelchair, crutch or the aid of another person.

•             Does not have full use of either arms or one arm

•             Walking is restricted due to neurological, orthopedic, or arthritic conditions.

•             Suffers from disease of the lung to a degree where the individual’s respiratory or forced expiratory quantity for 1 sec, spirometry measured, is below 1 liter or the tension of arterial oxygen is below 60 MM/HG at rest on room air.

•             Is using portable oxygen

•             Has a heart condition classified by the American Heart Association as Class III or Class IV

•             Has problems with vision or/and is blind legally.

Drivers who are disabled may request a “Disabled Person” (DP) license plates or DP placard.  These allow the driver to have parking benefits in those areas allocated for DP, each time the DP is either the passenger or driver of the disabled person’s vehicle.

Abuse or misuse of privileges is a misdemeanor; offenders may be fined of up to $5000 and/or imprisonment for up to 2 years.  Forgery and/or trading in genuine or counterfeit placards could risk penalties that are higher (of not more than $10,000) and/or time locked up in state prison for up to 5 years.

A DP is deemed to possess a disability status after acquiring DP license plates or placard. The process to obtain either is clarified below. These individuals still must keep and maintain car insurance in PA.

Status Duration

License plates for Disabled Person status are only available to those who are permanently disabled.

DP placards can be issued to persons with temporary or permanent disabilities:

•             Placards for those with permanent disabilities are legal until the last day of the month and year shown on the placard at which time they expire

•             Placards that are temporary are valid for up to 6 months and cannot be extended.

To acquire license plates for a person with a disability:

•             Download and finish form MV145 “APPLICATION FOR PERSON WITH DISABILITY OR HEARING IMPAIRED REGISTRATION OR A PERSON WITH DISABILITY MOTORCYCLE PLATE”.

•             Have a healthcare professional from Pennsylvania or adjoining states (New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Ohio, West Virginia or Maryland) sign certification.

•             Shows registration that is current in the name of the person who is disabled, or evidence attesting that the vehicle is registered in the name of the disabled person; together with fees for registration due on the vehicle – These individuals still must keep and maintain car insurance in PA.

To acquire a DP placard:

•             Download and finish form MV145A “PERSON WITH DISABILITY PARKING PLACARD APPLICATION”.

•             Have a healthcare professional from Pennsylvania or adjoining states (New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Ohio, West Virginia or Maryland) sign certification.

•             The complete form should be mail, along with any fees, to the address on the form.

Likewise to acquire either the placard or the plates take the form to a local DOT office.  You will then receive the placard or plates in approximately 14 days.  The permanent DP plates require a fee of $7.50.

For renewal:

•             The DMV notifies the driver by mail 2 months prior to the date of expiration of the DP permanent placard.

•             Download and then finish form MV145A “PERSON WITH DISABILITY PARKING PLACARD APPLICATION”.

•             Those who hold permanent placards will not need a physician’s recertification.

•             Mail the finished form, together with any fees, to the address on the form.

For replacement of placards that are lost, stolen, or mutilated;

•             Download and finish the form MV145A “PERSON WITH DISABILITY PARKING PLACARD APPLICATION”.

•             Enclose any placard that was mutilated or remaining plates.

•             Mail the finished form, along with any fees, to the address on the form.

It is important to note that none of these applications for DP status negates an individual’s legal responsibility under Pennsylvania state law to keep and maintain car insurance in PA.