Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Important Legislation Changes Pertaining To DWI And DUI Laws In Pennsylvania

Whenever you are charged with alcohol related driving offense, the advice given by any legal counsel is that you should not plead guilty of your charge until you have the chance to speak with your attorney. However, learning about the specific laws of auto insurance in Pennsylvania will also prepare you for such consequences. If you do not want to pay high premiums for your car insurance in Pennsylvania, it is important for you to learn the legislation changes enforced since 2004.

The severity of the punishments has not been lessened with the amendments but they have been further strengthened and made more relentless. According to the new laws, the convict will be judged based on two offenses. This is the BAC or the level of alcohol present in the blood system at the time of being arrested as well as the number of similar convictions made in the past by the driver.

The BAC ratios which are amended are as stipulated below.

* Between 0.08 and 0.099 is considered as a general impairment and as such contain less stern punishments

* Between 0.100 and 0.159 is considered as a high rate of alcohol and the punishments are stricter than the above offense

* A BAC rate of .16 or above is considered as the highest rate of alcohol in the system and offenses of this nature will be treated with the highest level of severity.

If you are a first time offender and if your BAC rate is less than 0.100, you will escape the threat of a jail call as well as the loss of your driver’s license. However, the bad news is that even though you have committed the wrong for the first time, you will be still expected to pay a relatively high fine of $300 as well as take part in the obligatory program conducted by the Alcohol Safety School. Your driving conduct will be monitored on probation for a period of six months and you will also have to bear any relevant court fees. When you obtain facilities of auto insurance in Pennsylvania, you will be thoroughly made aware of all the downsides and risks of drunk driving. However, it is important to make the right choice after conducting proper research on the various car insurance dealers in PA.

A point to remember is that even if you are a first time offender, you will be subjected to a temporary jail sentence as well as removal of driver’s license for twelve months if your BAC measures over 0.099 when caught for driving under the influence in the Pennsylvania state.

If the offense is made for the second or third time you face grave punishments, more so if the charges fall within the last ten years. In this circumstance, you will definitely face time in jail in addition to having your driver’s license suspended for a minimum of one year. The fines can range anywhere between $300 to $10000 depending on the PA BAC level and the past offenses of the same nature.

Before you take your car on the road in Pennsylvania, take some time to find out everything you can about auto insurance in Pennsylvania. You may even be lucky to make use of some of the ongoing promotions offering Pennsylvania cheap car insurance deals. Just enter your zip at the top of this page and within minutes, we will send you all the details you are looking for.