Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Penalties Set By PennDot for Driving Uninsured Vehicle in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania law asks from all Pennsylvania motor vehicle users to maintain vehicle liability insurance or financial responsibility on a currently registered vehicle they own. Vehicle liability insurance covers the damage to property or medical injuries you may inflict upon others in a crash. If your own insurance coverage runs out this results in the suspension of your vehicle registration driving rights for three months, unless the lapse of auto insurance in Pennsylvania was for a time of less than 31 days and the user or registrant proves to PennDOT that his car was not driven during this short amount of time in coverage. If PennDOT finds out that you drive your vehicle without the required insurance, your driver’s license will also be taken from you for three months. The registration plate, sticker, card and driver’s license must be given to PennDOT in order to serve this punishment.

If you want them back, you must pay $50 and a proof of auto insurance in Pennsylvania must be give before having either registration or driving privileges given back. You can go search on the internet to ask for a print of free vehicle registration restoration requirements letter which outlines certain things that must be met before a car registration can be restored. You will need to provide the first eight numbers of the car title number, the last four numbers of the Vehicle Identification Number if the VIN is higher than four digits long and the first two characters of the owner’s last name or the first two characters of the company’s name if a company owns the vehicle.

Have in mind that Pennsylvania car insurance companies must notify PennDOT when an insurance policy is cancelled by the insured person. Insurance companies are not required by law to notify PennDOT when a car owner acquires a brand new insurance policy with the same or different insurance company. It is the car owner’s task to notify PennDOT of the new insurance after getting a letter from PennDOT. If you don’t respond to PennDOT’s proof letter will have as a result the suspension of your car registration.  This may be avoided by the return of the registration plate, sticker and card to PennDOT when the insurance policy is cancelled or financial responsibility lapses. Registration plates, stickers and cards must be received by PennDOT no more than thirty days after car insurance in PA was cancelled. Registration plates, stickers and cards received by PennDOT after thirty days will have a cause of a three-month registration suspension. By following this laws and regulations and not breaking them your vehicle or the vehicle you company owns will be always registered and you will be able to drive it without facing and problems with the law, we hope this has helped you a lot and if you don’t understand anything feel free to ask because it is better to be informed about such a vital thing in your life and to avoid unpleasant consequences. The most important thing you need to remember that you have a vehicle registered it must also be insured.