Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Regulations To Follow

The purpose of Pennsylvania auto insurance is to protect you, the passengers in your car, any other driver involved in the accident and any other damage property due to the road accident. It covers all your medical and other expenses, therefore, preventing you from incurring financial losses. Pennsylvania is a no-fault state. This means that as a driver you have to have additional personal injury insurance that covers you in case you are involved in an accident regardless of who is at fault. The reason why this is a no-fault state is to ensure that every motorist gets prompt and immediate medical attention in the event of an accident. Keep in mind that nobody plans for an accident and you may be caught unawares with no cash to pay for all your expenses. Below are the Pennsylvania auto insurance regulations.

> Liability insurance. This kind of cover protects the policy holder whenever he is the cause of an accident. The state requires the driver to carry at least $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident and $5,000 to cover property damage.

> Medical benefits. This coverage applies to the policy holder and anyone else covered in the driver’s plan regardless of who caused the accident. The driver is required to get at least $5,000 of coverage.

> Right to sue. There is tort options that drivers are allowed to choose if they desire; full or limited tort. Limited tort policy holder is eligible to get compensation but cannot sue for personal injury and pain caused after an accident. Full tort policy holder is eligible to sue for compensation for pain and suffering caused by the accident.

> Penalties. There are strict penalties for motorists that default car insurance laws, the vehicle registration and driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days. During this period, the car is rendered useless as it cannot be even used by a driver with a valid license. The suspended driver cannot drive across the state’s roadways. Documents are to be reinstated with $50 each or $100 total must be paid or at least $300 for driving uninsured. If insurance has elapsed for over 31 days, the driver and the vehicle registration can be suspended for over 3 months.

> Assigned Risk plan. High risk individuals (drivers with bad driving history or record) cannot be turned away by insurance companies in the state. There is a plan that caters for these kinds of drivers but at a high monthly premium.

Most of the PA auto insurance companies follow these regulations to device their own terms of service and the kind of insurance cover that they offer. For you to be on the safe side, enter your zip code on the top of this website. Get regular up to date information and be able to make a comprehensive comparison of these companies.