Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

The Effects of DWI & DUI Convictions to Your Car Insurance in Pennsylvania

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact, an agreement to share information regarding Drunk Driving Offenses.  Here you would learn about DUI, DWI convictions and their penalties regarding car insurance in Pennsylvania.

As per the Interstate Drivers License Compact car insurance in Pennsylvania if a driver is convicted of drunk driving in a different state, his home state will be notified about the same. The action will also be different as per the state laws. Pennsylvania drunk driving cases are referred to as Driving After Imbibing (DAI), Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI).

  • It is important that you know drunk driving laws and limits to stay safe.
  • In Pennsylvania, for all drivers the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content – Concentration) is 0.08% and above.
  • For commercial vehicle operators, the BAC limit is 0.04% and above.
  • Moreover, for the minors who are below of 21 years of age, it is 0.02% and above.
  • If you reach the limit or exceed it, you will offend the laws in Pennsylvania and attract hefty penalty.

Pennsylvania drunk driving law has a three tiered penalty system, for 0.08% to less than 0.10% it is known as the General Impairment. Starting from 0.10% to less than 0.16% is named as High Rate of Alcohol and finally 0.16% or higher it is called as Highest Rate of Alcohol.

If you are convicted for the first time with BAC limit as General Impairment level, your driving license will not be compromised but a fine of $300 will be drawn against this offense.  You would have a minimum of six months probation including community service and alcohol highway safety school must be attended.  Your car insurer would have to send an SR22 for you and there are some additional penalties.

However, if you are charged with drunk driving above General Impairment limit, your driving license will be suspended for a minimum of 12 months period. You might have to pay fine from $500 to $5000, and you will have to end up in jail. Additionally you need to do many formalities to fulfill the requirements for drunk driving convictions.  You also have to meet the Pennsylvania SR22 requirement.

If you deny submitting a chemical test in Pennsylvania, you would also attract charges against you. In addition to driving license suspension, there would be an ‘Ignition Interlock’ to restrict your license reinstatement. Now it may come to your mind, how DWI, DUI are going to affect you car Insurance in Pennsylvania. Your car insurance company will most likely terminate your policy. Since a DUI DWI conviction will stay on your driving record permanently, getting a new insurer will be difficult.

It is difficult to deal with car insurance after DUI or DWI. If you have offended the Pennsylvania laws and convicted with DUI or DWI you will have to be very cautious about your next step.

Fill out SR22 form and intimate your auto insurance company about the same. Get yourself a good lawyer who has a profound knowledge about car insurance in Pennsylvania and DWI/DUI violation. Also notify your auto insurance company if your license is suspended. Under these circumstances, you might have to withdraw your policy until your driver’s license is back. If you are eligible to continue with your insurance, the premium will go higher. Do not be hopeless. Wait until you get your license back and most importantly avoid drink and driving.

Are you sad for being convicted under DUI DWI for the second time? Is your license suspended? Don’t you worry. Search on our website by entering the ZIP code of your area and find out who is the best person to help you in this situation of getting car insurance in Pennsylvania.