Helpful agents are standing by: (484) 652-8332
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Understanding the Basic Laws of Car Insurance in PA

Each car owner in Pennsylvania should know about the legal requirements before getting car insurance in PA. Following are few basic laws for your guidance:

CheapCarInsuranceInPennsylvania•             Minimum liability: The laws of Pennsylvania state that the minimum insurance cover liability in case of an accident is $15,000/$30,000. The $15000 is to cover medical expenses for a bodily injury to one person involved in one accident. The $30,000 requirement is for all the persons involved in the same accident. This is an important law and should be kept in mind while buying car insurance. If your insurance does not guarantee this amount then you might have to pay from your own pockets.

•             Medical benefits: Regardless of fault you can claim $5,000 from the insurance company for any bodily injury suffered by you in an accident.

•             Property destruction liability: In case you are involved in an accident and you are at fault, you can claim $5,000 from your insurance company towards repairs of property which suffered damage in the accident because of your fault.

•             Under Pennsylvania law, you need to give hard proof of financial responsibility whenever asked in the following cases – Demanded by a law enforcement officer after an accident or at a traffic stop, at the time of registering your vehicle and at the time when your vehicle is inspected.

•             In order that drivers continue to meet financial responsibility requirements, Pennsylvania law requires insurance companies to furnish all insurance related driver’s information to department of transportation notifying them about lapsed, cancelled or terminated policies or any policy issue.  In case if the insurance company sending PennDOT information about your inactive policy, you might receive a request from PennDOT requesting new insurance information.

•             There are severe penalties for drivers failed to adhere state auto insurance laws pertaining to motor vehicle liability. These penalties include minimum $300 fine for uninsured driving, suspension of vehicle registration for a minimum of 3 months, suspension of driver’s license for a minimum of 3 months, a vehicle registration restoration fee of $50, a driver’s license restoration fee of $50 and the vehicle cannot be driven if its registration is suspended.

•                 Suspension could be avoided if the driver returns registration plate, card and sticker to PennDOT when the insurance policy is cancelled or if there is a lapse of financial responsibility. In case the insurance is cancelled PennDOT should receive the card, sticker and registration plate within 30 days of cancellation. In case these are received beyond 30 days the registration would be suspended for a period of 3 months.

Knowing these laws is essential for any driver or car owner planning to buy car insurance in Pennsylvania. In case you are interested in getting cheap quotes for car insurance in PA you can type your zip code at the top of this page. You would receive all the required information and amazing car insurance quotes.